@Valleyreagent

Hello, I'm Amanda G Renaldi: Real estate agent in the Lehigh Valley, Social butterfly, Arts & crafts Queen, Master-Griller & lover of all things Food. I like exploring new things & making new friends. Don't be shy to strike up a conversation! If you have real estate needs, please visit my website: www.valleyreagent.com. Feel free to pass on my contact information to friends and family. As I always say, the best compliment you can give me is the referral of your friends and family.

I work outtttt!

2 Comments

If someone would have told me years ago that one day I would be counting every calorie that enters my body and sweating to the oldies on the elliptical at 6AM, I would have called them crazy. Not anymore….

 <—If you’ve heard this song before, you know that I’ve posted it simply for the one line that states: “I workkkkkk outttttt!” Haha, this has been an ongoing joke in our household.

Prior to selling real estate with Century 21 Pinnacle full time, I was a restaurant manager. I was always on the go, burning hundreds of calories a day. My metabolism was insanely high and it was impossible for me to gain weight. I would eat deep fried food and mountains of pasta every day of the week. That is no longer the case! As we get older, our metabolism slows down. We can’t break down food the way we used to. A lifesteyle change can also attribute to that. Being a Realtor, I’m also on the go.. but not the way I was when I worked in the restaurant industry.

I know that weight can be a touchy subject-especially for women, so I thought I’d blog about it and give some helpful suggestions. I’m also up for recommendations, so don’t hesitate to comment or email me directly at valleyreagent@gmail.com. Any and all help is appreciated!

First and foremost, it truly helps if your significant other is on board and supporting you. You can motivate one another and push each other to achieve more. My husband has been a great support system for me. I belonged to a gym for a very short amount of time a few years ago. I always felt very out of place though and had no idea if I was doing anything correctly. Frank has shown me the exercises I should be doing to target my problem areas. I am very confident now when I go to the gym, knowing that what I am doing will show improvements in my body.

We both downloaded an app called “Myfitnesspal”. It’s available for both iphones and android platform smart phones. It allows you to research just about any type of food to see how many calories it has, along with the fat, carbs, etc. We are focusing on low calorie meals. My daily calorie allowance is 1,100. So far, we have only gone over our calories once.. we considered that our “cheat day” and didn’t have much choice, as it was Father’s Day. We enjoyed the pasta al forno, steaks, mashed potatoes, and corn on the cob, but honestly, felt sluggish after. Neither of us would have batted an eye at the things we consumed on Sunday. Cutting them out of our diet and then reintroducing them makes us realize the impact a diet can make.  The app is really easy to use and holds us accountable for everything that we consume. Without it, I would most likely not be able to follow a diet. Check out the screen shots below:

 

You’re able to search existing foods, even from restaurants that you go out to eat at. You can also create your own meals and save them in the diary for future use or just add the calories for things you are eating, without searching for them. There’s things that we used to eat that we found out are terrible for you. I never would have known without using the app. It also allows you to record your workouts and applies the calories that you burn to your allowed goal for the day.

Lunch was our greatest downfall. Being that we are constantly on the go, in the car, back and forth between appointments, there were plenty of times where eating fast food was justified, simply because it was the quickest and easiest method. We now grill chicken in bulk to bring to the office, stop for salads or other healthy items, or eat meal replacement bars that provide protein, but aren’t packed with calories or unneeded sugar.

No one loves dieting, especially when it means cutting out fun snacks. We’ve found alternatives that are actually pretty tasty:

Fiber One has 90 calorie brownies, which is great for me, because I am a choco-holic. Did you know that the average calorie count for a FUN SIZE candy bar is 80 calories? Yeah, that tiny thing has THAT many calories. These brownies are a decent size and only 90 calories.

These are Veggie Straws. This company also makes Veggie Chips. This product is pretty popular with mothers for small children. They’re a healthy alternative, just 130 calories for every 38.. pretty awesome! And, they taste great.

There’s also Pop Secret’s 100 calorie pack popcorn and 100 calorie pack chips and snacks (I think Utz makes them, but I’m not sure.)

I also like to use an app called “Map my Run”. This allows you to record your run, walk,  jog, whatever it is you do. It’ll record your distance, time, calories burned, path taken, day and time. It’s pretty cool! (You can also log your calories in this app, but I have not used it for that.)

I hope any of this information helped you. I’ll be sure to post updates as we continue working out and getting closer to our weight goals. Frank is down 7 pounds, maybe more.. he hasn’t weighed himself in a little while. I’m down 3 pounds so far, but am due for a weigh in also. The more important thing is that we feel healthy. We have more energy (even though we’re waking up at 5:30AM) and are in better moods overall throughout the day. Signing up for the gym is one of the best things we’ve done for ourselves lately.  I’m really enjoying this lifestyle. I workkkk outttt!!! Over and out bloggers.

Author: valleyreagent

Hello, my name is Amanda G Renaldi. I live in the Lehigh Valley and am a full time Realtor with Century 21 Pinnacle of Bethlehem. I have been licensed since 2006 and can honestly say that I love my job. I handle multiple facets of the business, but buyers, rentals, and property management are my specialty. Buying or selling a home can be a very chaotic chapter in your life. My objective is to ensure that your real estate transaction is smooth and stress free. I am here to answer any questions you may have, don't ever hesitate or feel embarrassed to do so.. that's why you're hiring me. You can contact me via email valleyreagent@gmail.com or by phone 610-823-1309. You can also visit my website www.valleyreagent.com or my husband's (Frank Renaldi Jr) www.frankrenaldi.com. Frank is a lifetime resident of the lehigh valley, has been licensed for 9 years, and is the current President of our Lehigh Valley Association of Realtors. He also handles multiple facets of the business, but specializes in sellers. We make a fantastic team and work hand in hand to provide our clients with the best possible service. On a personal note, I am a huge soccer and formula 1 fan. I also love the Phillies, Eagles, and Flyers. I love competition all around, sports are a great outlet for it. My family is Sicilian, so I speak the language fluently. Yes, it is different than Italian. I love arts and crafts, crochet, and anything to do with Michael's. I'm also a tweet-a-holic, you can follow me @valleyreagent. I'm very outgoing and love to socialize.. you'll see I go off on tangents and rants throughout the day. Feel free to strike up a conversation any time! Hope we cross paths soon!

2 thoughts on “I work outtttt!

  1. I like your blog. I’m in! I definitely have some input as I spent a huge part of my life being super healthy and fitness conscious. Last year, I was in incredible shape, and I need to get back to that place for the sake of FEELING good. Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks so much! We’re both really into it and just like the fact that we feel good for once. You just don’t realize it until you get into a routine. I couldn’t go back to our old ways. I’ll take any advice you have!

Leave a Reply

